My Own: What’s not Wrong?

It’s not that I’m a snob. Really. But there is a reason I only follow a few blogs, and I only follow a few people on Twitter. I am compulsive and easily distracted. I admit it. I have a problem.

I know this about myself, so I put my Twitter PLN, all of which I love and learn from, onto comprehensive lists. It’s much easier for me to focus that way. I put the blogs I follow into Feedly and read them when I have the time or sometimes when I just need the inspiration.

This morning was one of those days.

I’ve had a particularly hard week, mainly because of one particular student. I think what bothers me the most is that one student’s negativity can cast a shadow on so many other students’ shining positivity.

Another thing I know about myself: I let things get to me that I need to just let disappear.

I read Gary Anderson’s post this morning. I’ve often wondered why his blog is called What’s Not Wrong?, and now I know.

And I am grateful.

This morning I gave each of my students a square of paper and asked them to write at least one thing that answered the question:  What’s not wrong?

Then I put them into two teams and divided up the papers. I gave them five minutes to work together to compose a poem that used all the ideas, and then they had to perform as a group to the other one.

The mood changed. We laughed. We remembered what it’s like to be in a community of learners.

The poems:

I’m alive

My relationship is 🙂

awesome — my girlfriend hasn’t left me

Courtnye is beautiful, and I get to see her daily.

Attempting to keep up with my

work

passing all my classes

I currently have food. Have my own car.

friends & family (always a plus)

Jr. year is almost over.

the color me rad race is tomorrow.

48 days until I see my family.

So excited

–Alive, Breathing, and Healthy

What’s not wrong?

It’s FRIDAY!!

Junior year is almost over,

and Senior year is starting to look really nice.

My family is alive and healthy.

I’m changing the road I’m heading onto and feel no fear.

Everyone I care about is alive and well.

Everyday I wake up is a chance to live my life.

What’s not wrong?

What’s not wrong?

I have everything I need

people coming to school

Art is really easy

My APUSH grade is

amazing

Michelle is always right

I have a loving family

I’m healthy

life is good

The class periods

Practice for Track

What’s not Wrong?

Baseball isn’t wrong

Friends aren’t wrong

I don’t have to take care of any kids.

Ruben

Taifoor

Adrian Leos

Adolfo

Mian

Jose

Music

Right

What’s not wrong?

What is NOT wrong?

Anything right

Summer is close by

I did my laundry

Breaks from school

We have food

What’s not wrong?

Me and my brother are getting along

My APUSH grade

My grades are good

I have an education

Michelle is never wrong.

What’s not wrong?

dogs

My dog doesn’t smell anymore

My dog is growing

What’s not wrong?

my music

the band’s gone

$ isn’t an issue

the rule of survival

friendships that I have

LUNCH

me

CAPTAIN AMERICA!

NOTE:  With the exception of the “Michelle is always right/never wrong” comments, I just love these poems. Michelle is top of her class and an amazing students; however, the pedestal she is put upon is a little too high. Even she admits that she needs to learn and grow and improve. That is what I love about her. She asks:  What can I do better? Then she listens and tries. Michelle, and the students just like her, are the reason I keep doing this job, even after weeks like this one.

Blessed Friday!

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “My Own: What’s not Wrong?

  1. Gary Anderson April 4, 2014 at 6:51 pm Reply

    Well, how much do I love this! What a great way to use What’s Not Wrong. Please tell those wonderful students that your friend in Illinois really liked their creations.

    Like

What are you thinking?